History of SAPRA

Did you know the South Arm Peninsula Residents Association Inc (SAPRA) was formed in 1989? The first Committee meeting was held on 20th April 1989. It was created to promote, support and protect the interests and welfare of all residents in the South Arm Peninsula community (Sandford, Cremorne, Clifton Beach, South Arm and Opossum Bay) by working with all tiers of Government, local groups and others on a variety of issues and projects.

The inaugural Committee members were Bryce Harvey (President), Barry Duncan and Phillip Read (Vice Presidents), Bob Verrier (Secretary), Annette Potter (Treasurer), Michelle deQuincey (Publicity Officer), Neil Buchanan, Rick Cuthbertson, Richardson Hamlyn Harris, Dawson Smith, Jill Calvert, Noela Foxcroft, Ray Leonard and Trish Smith. Read the first newsletter here!

The Association's first major project was to build a community centre and gymnasium. Driven by a small but strong-minded and enthusiastic Committee and buoyed by huge local support, an amount of $100,000 was raised by the community.
The South Arm Community Centre was officially opened in 1997 after receiving significant State and Federal funding, along with provision of the land by Clarence City Council. SAPRA manages the Community Centre and co-ordinates its use. The Centre today includes the Library, History Room, Pot Luck Op Shop and Market as well as the Iron Plot Community Garden. The bi-monthly South Arm Peninsula News has been published by SAPRA since 1989 and is distributed throughout the South Arm Peninsula community (you can read recent editions here).

All South Arm Peninsula residents are very welcome to become members of SAPRA. The annual subscription fee is only $2 per person. Strong membership numbers reinforce our voice with all levels of Government, supporting our advocacy work and grant applications. Email enquiries to sapramembers@southarm.tas.au or download an application form here >

SAPRA logo